Embrun, ON is located in Eastern Ontario, about 25 minutes east on the Hwy 417 from Canada's Capital City, Ottawa.
Settlers first came to what would be known as Embrun in 1845, however the town was not named until 1857 by Francois Michel who named the town after a city in France.
This railway line continued operation until 1957, when a combination of pressures from the National Capital Commission, who wished to cut down on the number of railway lines through Ottawa in an effort to eliminate noise pollution, as well as from the Saint Lawrence Seaway project, which required the removal of the railway's bridge in Cornwall, caused the railway line to shut down. The last trains ran in February 1957, and in April CN purchased the railway track and proceeded to demolish it. Although some segments in Cornwall and Ottawa were retained, the line through Embrun was scrapped. A few decades later, the municipal government constructed a walking trail on the right of way, which remains in use to the present day.
That exact walking trail borders our Station St-Pierre Subdivision.
Embrun also boasts an arena with hockey, figure skating and CanSkate available, a Jr B Hockey team, a new Sports Dome with walking track, workout area, and indoor sports.
A bowling alley, tennis court, baseball league. There really is something for every sport and exercise enthusiast.
Still not convinced? Take a moment to check out the link below to get more information about everything Embrun has to offer, including Public Transit, Daycares, Schools, Services, etc.
We hope to see you soon in friendly Embrun, ON!