Nestled in the heart of Embrun Ontario, with it's abundance of history. Station St-Pierre was named in memory of the train that once ran through this quaint up and coming town as well as the street on which the entrance to the subdivision is located.
Settlers first came to what would be known as Embrun in 1845, however the town was not named until 1857 by Francois Michel who named the town after a city in France.
This railway line continued operation until 1957, when a combination of pressures from the National Capital Commission, who wished to cut down on the number of railway lines through Ottawa in an effort to eliminate noise pollution, as well as from the Saint Lawrence Seaway project, which required the removal of the railway's bridge in Cornwall, caused the railway line to shut down. The last trains ran in February 1957, and in April CN purchased the railway track and proceeded to demolish it. Although some segments in Cornwall and Ottawa were retained, the line through Embrun was scrapped. A few decades later, the municipal government constructed a walking trail on the right of way, which remains in use to the present day.
That exact walking trail borders the southern most part of Station St-Pierre.